Institutional Support for Open Access

An increasing number of institutions provide support to authors who publish in open access journals. This is a partial list of such institutions. If you can’t find your institution on this list, check with your library—there may be funds available we’re not aware of. If you find something, contact us! If you don’t, let your librarian know open access support would be valuable to you. Please be aware that the inclusion of an institution on this list does not imply any agreement between that institution and AIP Publishing. Inclusion of an institution on this list also does not imply that a publication with one of AIP Publishing's open access journals will qualify for support from that institution. Check with your librarian or fund administrator to see if your publication qualifies for support.




Czech Rep


The DFG has established the Open-Access Publishing Programme, a fund to assist institutions in supporting open access publishing. Below is a list of institution within Germany, some of whom may participate in DFG’s Open-Access Publishing Programme. Check with your respective institution to see if they’re taking advantage of these funds.

Carl von Ossietzky Universität Oldenburg

Eberhard Karls Universität Tübingen

Freie Universität Berlin

Friedrich-Alexander Universität Erlangen-Nürnberg

Georg-August-Universität Göttingen

Johannes Gutenberg-Universität Mainz

Justus-Liebig-Universität Gießen

Karlsruhe Institut für Technologie*

Leibniz Universität Hannover*

Philipps-Universität Marbur

Ruhr-Universität Bochum

Technische Universität Hamburg

TU Berlin

TU Chemnitz

TU Clausthal

TU Dortmund

TU Dresden

TU München

Universität  Kassel

Universität Bayreuth

Universität Bielefeld

Universität Bremen

Universität Duisburg-Essen

Universität Heidelberg

Universität Konstanz

Universität Leipzig

Universität Münster

Universität Potsdam

Universität Regensburg

Universität Stuttgart

Universität Ulm


In addition to institutional support, NWO has established Incentive Fund Open Access. You can apply for funds to cover article processing charges within six months after the final publication date.

Nederlandse Organisatie voor Wetenschappelijk Onderzoek (NWO)

TU Delft

Universiteit Twente

Universiteit Utrecht


The Research Council of Norway has established funds to assist institutions in supporting open access publishing. If you don’t see your institution on this list check with them to see if they’re taking advantage of these funds.

Høgskulen i Volda

Nord Universitet

Norges Teknisk-Naturvitenskapelige Universitet

Universitetet i Agder

Universitetet i Bergen

Universitetet i Oslo

Universitetet i Tromsø

South Africa





Research Councils UK has established block grants to institutions to cover the cost of article processing charges. If you don’t see your institution on this list check with them to see if they’re taking advantage of these funds.


Anglia Ruskin University

Aston University

Bangor University

Birkbeck College University of London

Bournemouth University

Brunel University

Cardiff University

City University London

De Montfort University

Durham University

Heriot-Watt University

Imperial College London

Institute for Cancer Research, University of London

Institute for Development Studies, University of Sussex

Keele University

King's College London

Lancaster University

Liverpool John Moores University

London Metropolitan University

London School of Economics

London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine

Loughborough University

Manchester Metropolitan University

Middlesex University

Newcastle University

Northumbria University

Nottingham University

Oxford Brookes University

Plymouth University

Queen Mary University of London

Royal Holloway, University of London

Royal Veterinary College, University of London

School of Oriental and African Studies, University of London

Sheffield Hallam University

St George's University of London

Swansea University

UCL School of Pharmacy

University College London

University of Aberdeen

University of Bath

University of Birmingham

University of Bradford

University of Brighton

University of Bristol

University of Cambridge

University of Dundee

University of East Anglia

University of East London

University of Edinburgh

University of Essex

University of Glasgow

University of Hertfordshire

University of Huddersfield

University of Hull

University of Kent

University of Leeds

University of Leicester

University of Liverpool

University of London School of Advanced Studies

University of Manchester

University of Nottingham

University of Oxford

University of Portsmouth

University of Reading

University of Salford

University of Sheffield

University of Southampton

University of St Andrews

University of Stirling

University of Strathclyde

University of Surrey

University of Sussex

University of the West of England

University of Ulster

University of Warwick

University of Westminster

University of York


Brandeis University

Carnegie Mellon University

Colorado State University

Columbia University*

Cornell University*

Dartmouth College*

Duke University*

Emory University*

Florida State University

George Mason University

Grand Valley State University

Harvard University*

Indiana University-Purdue University Indianapolis

Kansas State University

Lafayette College

Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center*


Oregon State University

Texas A&M University*

Tufts University

University of California at Berkeley*

University of California at Davis

University of California at Irvine

University of California at San Francisco

University of California at Santa Barbara

University of Illinois at Chicago

University of Iowa

University of Kansas

University of Massachusetts

University of Minnesota

University of Oklahoma

University of Pittsburgh*

University of Rhode Island*

University of Tennessee*

University of Utah*

Utah State University

Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University (Virginia Tech)

Wake Forest University

* Participants of Compact for Open-Access Publishing Equity (COPE), which help authors finance open access fees.

AIP Publishing is not responsible for the content of other websites. We strive to maintain the accuracy of this list, but if you do come across a mistake, please contact us.